Pages

Thursday, November 8, 2012

Branching Strategy

At Cinchcast Tech, we've been spending a lot of time discussing a proper branching strategy for our codebase.

There exist dev, qa, and staging branches.  All development starts locally and then gets merged into the dev branch. After testing, QA team can merge it into qa branch. Finally, when the code is ready to be released it gets merged into the staging branch:



When we work on new releases, we follow one of two approaches:
1. Release branches. A separate branch is created for each release.
For example, FOO_3_1_2 branch would be created for all work done on release 3.1.2 of the FOO project.

2. Feature branches. A separate branch is created for each large component. Typically these components require isolated testing, and are merged into the main branch only at the end. The naming convention is AY_MODULE where AY is initials of a developer and MODULE is the name of the component.

All new branches are created off a staging branch, which should mimic the code that's running in production.
Any urgent hotfixes are typically made directly on a staging branch, and then backported into other branches.

Any load testing or security analysis is typically done during QA stage when the code has been merged into qa branch. We have a variety of scanners running 24x7 against our qa and production environments, such as Mcafee Secure scanning for dynamic security vulnerabilities and NewRelic continuously checking the performance of the application. If any issues are found, then the code is rolled back and cannot go into Production.

Note: We are always looking to hire great software engineers. So if you are one, and are looking for an exciting environment to work at, email us at jobs@cinchcast.com



Reactions:

6 comments:

Georges Favre-Jacot created the business and also during those times Zenith has been well regarded regarding producing omega replica sale really specific chronometers. The business is situated in Swiss, inside the tiny location regarding Le Locle. As it was proven, the particular brand name attained above 2333 chronometry cash incentives, becoming an total document case inside the industry. Inside 1969, Zenith developed any high-frequency omega replica sale programmed chronograph movements. The particular El Primero, because it has been known as, operates with thirty-six, 000 vibrations hourly, getting one of the most specific programmed movements available. If the quartz wave started in the particular seventies, Charles Vermot has been usually the one which rescued the particular El Primero movements, which usually this individual put inside the factory's attic room. Afterwards, inside 1984, any time programmed motions gotten reputation, the particular El Primero has been incorporated into quite a few great timepieces. The particular movements has been utilized to generate superior issues and also is a huge massive accomplishment, mostly simply because which it surely could examine as a result of 1/10th of your next. This kind of produced each cartier replica uk observe good El Primero a really specific and also delightful wrist watch. The particular El Primero is a superb calibre inside the observe planet. It really is the only person in which, right after getting produced inside 1969, remains found in many timepieces simply by Zenith.

Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletfactory-stores.us.com

North Face Outlet http://www.northface-outlets.com.co

Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.in.net

ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardypopsale.com

Coach Outlet Store Online http://www.coachstoreonline.in.net

Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletstore.in.net

Cheap Jordans http://www.cheapjordansretro.us.com

Coach Purses http://www.coachpurses.eu.com

Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutlet2016.us.com

Tory Burch Shoes http://www.toryburchoutlets.us.com

Longchamp Outlet http://www.longchampoutlet.in.net

Michael Kors Handbags http://www.innnov8.com

Coach Outlet http://www.innnovate.com

Red Bottom Shoes http://www.redbottomshoes.us.org

Moncler Jackets http://www.monclerdownjackets.us.com

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.in.net

Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletstore.us.com

Moncler Outlet http://www.moncleroutletonline.in.net

Coach Factory http://www.maganates.com

Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactorysoutlet.in.net

Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadesoutlet.us.com

Ray Ban Outlet http://www.raybanoutletstore.in.net

Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoes2016.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlets.us.org

Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachoutletstore.name

Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletonline.name

Coach Outlet http://www.coach-outlets.us.org

Nike Roshe Run http://www.tanie-nikerosherun.pl

Buty Nike Air Max http://www.airmaxsprzedazdla.pl

Nike Air Max http://www.nikeairmax.us.org

Red Bottom Shoes http://www.redbottomshoe.in.net

Christian Louboutin Outlet http://www.christianlouboutinoutlet.us.org

Balenciaga Handbags http://www.balenciagaoutlets.us.com

Balenciaga Handbags http://www.balenciaga-handbags.us.com

Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.in.net

Toms Shoes http://www.tomshoesoutlet.us.com

Hermes Belt http://www.hermes-belts.us.com

Prada Outlet http://www.pradafactoryoutlet.com

Louis Vuitton Outlet http://www.louisvuittonsoutlet.us.com

North Face Outlet Store http://www.northfaceoutletstore.in.net

North Face Jackets http://www.north-face.in.net

North Face http://www.north-faceoutlets.us.com

Louis Vuitton Outlet http://www.louisvuitton-outlets.us.org

Timberland Boots http://www.timberland-outlets.us.com

Cheap Timberland Boots http://www.timberlandoutlet.us.com

Tory Burch Outlet http://www.toryburch-outlets.us.com

Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlaurenstoreoutlet.us.com

Gucci Shoes http://www.guccifactoryoutlet.name

Gucci Outlet http://www.guccioutletco.us.com

North Face Jackets http://www.northfacefactoryoutlet.us.com

Prada Outlet http://www.pradaoutlets.in.net

Hollister Clothing http://www.hollister-clothing.us.com

Ferragamo Shoes http://www.ferragamoshoes.us.org

Tiffany Outlet http://www.tiffany-outlets.us.com

Tiffany Outlet http://www.tiffanyco-outlet.us.com

NFL Jerseys http://www.nfljerseys.name

Toms Outlet http://www.outlettoms.us.com

Cheap Jordans http://www.cheapjordans.eu.com

North Face Outlet http://www.thenorthfaceoutlet.us.org

Prada Handbags http://www.pradaoutlet.us.org

Chan Luu Sale http://www.chanluu.us.com

Toms Outlet http://www.tomsoutletstores.us.com

Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletofficial.us.com

Beats By Dr Dre http://www.beatsbydrdre.us.org

Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

Post a Comment